## **Membership and Committee Structure**

# Appointment, Representation, and Compensation

The Board shall appoint EMC members and agency representatives¹ that: (1) have scientific and natural resource professional backgrounds, (2) have demonstrated previous collaboration in resource monitoring or scientific studies, and (3) are willing to serve on the EMC. EMC members may participate in formal votes and agencies may provide no more than one individual to act as a Committee member. Additional persons may serve as agency representatives which function as technical consultants or EMC staff and may not vote. Members should be capable of working collaboratively and developing work products in a timely manner. Members shall be appointed by the Board, with appointees having expertise in hydrology, geology, fluvial geomorphology, aquatic ecology, fisheries, forestry, fire ecology, wildlife management, and/or resource monitoring and sampling. In addition, members shall also have a working knowledge of the CA FPRs and forest management operations on private and state forestlands.

A statement of qualifications shall be required to verify education and field/rule application experience. Members shall be appointed from academia, professional consulting firms, state and federal agencies, private and state forestland owners, and the public. Members should be applied scientists or natural resource professionals with demonstrated previous collaboration in resource monitoring that can also represent a stakeholder group.

There is no compensation for service on this advisory committee, but members shall be reimbursed for their expenses in attending meetings to the extent that the law allows.

#### **Duration**

The EMC shall be a permanent Advisory Committee of the Board. The duration for original appointment to this committee is either two, three, or four years (i.e., mixed appointments). After the original term, all appointments convert to four year terms.

## **Co-Chairs**

The role of the Co-Chairs is to provide leadership and coordination for the EMC. The Board shall appoint two Co-Chairs for four year terms. One Co-Chair shall be a representative of either CNRA (Executive or the Departments housed under CNRA) or the Departments under the California Environmental Protection Agency.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Agency representatives include: California Natural Resources Agency, California Department of Fish and Wildlife, California Geological Survey, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, State and Regional Water Quality Control Boards, National Marine Fisheries Service, USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Research Station, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Review Team agencies will assign a lead representative and a back-up representative. The Secretary for Natural Resources will be consulted regarding agency representation.

# CURRENT (04/01/2022) AGENCY POSITIONS ARE FILLED AS FOLLOWS:

Natural Resources Agency:	
California Department of Fish and Wildlife: Ben Waitman	
California Geological Survey: Bill Short	
California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection: Dre	ew Coe
State and Regional Water Quality Control Boards: Jim Burk	ke, Justin LaNier, Jessica Leonard
National Marine Fisheries Service: Clarence Hostler	
US Fish and Wildlife Service:	